Greg and I.

oruvoice

When I enter the Mabee Center before home games, usually around 6:15, I pick up a roster and sign the 'sheet' so I get paid for announcing. This path takes me by the visitor's dressing room. Generally, you see a couple of asst. coaches running around, looking busy. Occasionally, I'll see the head coach and he is looking VERY stressed with a thousand things on his mind.

Last night however, as I got within 20 feet of the Oakland dressing room, Greg Kampe gets a wry smile on his face and make a b-line directly for me with his hand extended. He quips, that after last years tourney, that he was surprised that ORU kept me around and asks if I'm still doing that 1-2-3 'crap'.

I told him that I was getting one more year to make it to the dance and if we didn't make it they'd replace me.

As if a brief greeting and joke weren't enough, he starts asking me about what I do for a living, if I travel alot, and several other questions. We conversed for a FULL five minutes.

Also, during the game as usual, he talks to us at the scorer's table and cracks jokes.

Many of you had your own experience with Greg at last years tourney, but I wanted to reiterate again what a nice guy Coach Kampe is. In an environment where I've witnessed a lot of 'jerks', Kampe is truly one of the "nice guys" in college basketball.

Thanks for sharing your true feelings, Voice in our open and trusting environment. Now everyone, let's all join in for a verse of "Kum by ya"

I previously posted about the experience that several of us had during the Mid-Con championship game last March: Kampe had a running conversation with us (we were on the baseline) before, DURING & after the game. He a truly nice guy. I saw him before the game last night, and to my surprise, he remembered me and we had a nice conversation. In fact, I broke of the conversation because I was uncomfortable thinking he should probably be doing soemthing else.