Lionel Worrell

titansforever

Some of you from the 70s will remember Lionel. He is having surgery to remove blood clots from his lungs. It's an hours-long surgery--very involved, and sounds very scary. They have to stop his heart and freeze his brain. So he needs our prayers! 

TheEagleman saw Worrell play in the 75-76 season under Jerry Hale...a Juco transfer I believe....I think he played another year after I graduated and he was a decent player.....but didn't he turn ORU in for some minor violations after leaving and we got put on probation?? Surely Old Titan would know the back story....😐

23 hours ago, Cletus said:

Update on Lionel? @titansforever Praying,,,

He came through the surgery well and thanked those who prayed. He said, “Glory to God!”

• Upvote 1

I was under the impression that he became a Muslim after leaving ORU, but I may be mistaken.  I had some business classes with him.

18 hours ago, theeagleman5 said:

TheEagleman saw Worrell play in the 75-76 season under Jerry Hale...a Juco transfer I believe....I think he played another year after I graduated and he was a decent player.....but didn't he turn ORU in for some minor violations after leaving and we got put on probation?? Surely Old Titan would know the back story....😐

Yes, he did.  The guy(s) responsible for his conversion to Islam had (made?) him write a letter to the NCAA listing chapter and verse any violations he witnessed.

And while the violations were minor, the 2-year probation was not:  it cost head coach Lake Kelly his job, and prevented a really good Midwestern City Conference championship team from playing in the NCAA tournament in Ken Hayes' first season (1978-79).

I understand Lionel is recovering nicely from his surgery; wishing him a speedy return to good health.

But I doubt he's going into the ORU Athletics Hall of Fame anytime soon...

• Haha 2