2022-23 Epilogue

Old Titan

Am I alone in perhaps begging to differ with this pronouncement?

I think we need to distinguish between "best", or "most successful". 

While the two are not mutually exclusive, there IS a difference...

• Upvote 1

40 minutes ago, Old Titan said:

I’m new to ORU Basketball prior to the 2000’s. What other seasons would exceed or match this? 

11 minutes ago, ORUFanbase said:

I’m new to ORU Basketball prior to the 2000’s. What other seasons would exceed or match this? 

If you're saying the "best" team, then there are a BUNCH of our teams from the 70's & 80's that were better teams. 

• Upvote 1

TheEagleman agrees with Old Titan on this one.....ORU had much better teams back in the day and played a tougher D-1 schedule....but still this 30-5 season was a very good one....best in a while....even though it didn't end well like we hoped it would.....thought for sure ORU would make the Sweet 16.....but I was way off.....Image result for Cosmo Kramer

Don't get me wrong:  this was an incredibly successful year for the program, arguably top of the list in that regard, no question.

But, if you're wondering about possibly better teams (and some of the "best seasons"), check out the following years in the latest ORU Men's Basketball Media Guide:

• 1971-72 (pg. 71)  NIT Quarterfinals
  • 1973-74 (pg. 63-64)  NCAA Elite Eight
  • 1979-80 (pg. 103)  ineligible for post-season play
  • 1983-84 (pg. 65)  NCAA First Round
  • 2004-05 (pg. 77)  NIT First Round
  • 2005-06 (pg. 66)  NCAA First Round
  • 2006-07 (pg. 67)  NCAA First Round
  • 2007-08 (pg. 68)  NCAA First Round
  • 2011-12 (pg. 78)  NIT First Round
  • 2020-21 (pg. 69)  NCAA Sweet Sixteen

One guy's opinion...

• Upvote 2

3 minutes ago, Old Titan said:

Don't get me wrong:  this was an incredibly successful year for the program, arguably top of the list in that regard, no question.