Arkansas Game....

ORUTerry

I was a little surprised that Coach Walton had Ashman throw against Western Illinois on Sunday. I thought we might hold him back to pitch against the Hogs on Tuesday. Jeff Haxton mentioned on the broadcast that Ashman's father and brother were in town for the game - maybe that is why he was used.

Ashman has turned out to be an absolute beast on the mound. I didn't think he would end up being our star pitcher, but I guess you never can tell.

WHAT A GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i watched from home, that was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! way to go eagles, that should boost the rpi a lil

I went out to the game last night, thinking I'd stay a couple of innings and head home, but as usually happens I got sucked in and stayed till the end - and boy, was I glad I did. After Arkansas scored in the first two innings, ORU held them runnless for the next seven, all the while chipping away at the Hog lead.

Then in the bottom of the eighth an Arkansas fielder lets a ball get past him, two ORU runs score, and suddenly ORU has the lead and the Hogs have only three outs to try to make it up. They didn't.

Sean Jarrett is absolutely the most phenomenal closer that I've seen at ORU. Batter after batter for the Razorbacks just stood and watched while strike after strike blew by them. Once he took the mound, the chance for any more Arkansas runs occurring dropped about to zero.

BTW, I had a chance to check out the new weight training facility last night, and it is nothing short of amazing. Upstairs is a beautiful room overlooking the field, with big glass windows so you can watch the game from the comfort of a "climate controlled" facility. The view of the field is great.

Downstairs is an incredible weight training room. Very impressive. The baseball offices are also down stairs.

Looks like the hard work and effort by those involved with fund-raising for the new facility have been amply rewarded.