School pride?

oruvoice

It would appear that school pride has become nearly extinct at 81st & Lewis.

I wish I knew the cause or had a solution. I do not. Just felt like venting.

Would anyone have a problem if I went to the dorms and attempted to beat some school pride into the current student body?

I hear ya, I vented about it in a recent post, it's pretty shameful in my opinion for the students to not want to come to games and support their teams.  I'm pretty sure we got more support game in and game out for soccer and volleyball than we've gotten for basketball (so far), which is great for those sports, but where's the love for our basketball teams?  I watch pretty much all of the men's and women's basketball games on the ORU feed and espn3, or wherever they're on, and the student turnout has been pathetic.

Has college gotten harder since I was a student?  Well, could be, I was last a student 22 years ago.  Do they not have time?  Are they having to constantly study?  Are most of them going to bed at 7 at night?  Still, not sure of the reasons why the students don't come out.  Wish I knew a student or two that could tell me why, or I wish I could take a poll.

The Maniacs come out, but it seems like even they are less of a force these days.  Are the students not sitting in the same section or sections anymore?  I did see quite a few of the women's basketball players at the game last night, they were sitting together as a group in the section to the left of and not directly behind our bench if you were standing on the court, but I didn't see very many other students.

I remember players telling me that it meant a lot to them when the students came out, it got them going.  They appreciate it.  I'm sure they wonder why the student sections are basically empty.

And voice, I don't think that beating on the current student body would do any good.  Maybe free stuff would work.  Sad.